5 Cozy Books to Read This Fall

There’s honestly nothing better than curling up on a chilly autumn day with a comfy blanket, a cup of coffee and a good book. I rounded up some of my favorite reads for a cozy fall morning.

Everything I Left Behind, Alexis Dent

Alexis was kind enough to send me a copy of her book, and I am totally in love. Her poetry is perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Atticus, and it’s so incredibly beautiful. She covers love, loss, adversity, and the stages of her life with an anxiety disorder. As someone who has also struggled with this my entire life, it was very powerful and relatable. Definitely a new favorite!

The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman

I firmly believe that Neil Gaiman books were made for creepy fall days. I haven’t started reading this one yet, but I know it’s a classic. It follows Bod, a boy raised by ghosts, werewolves and all sorts of things that inhabit a graveyard as it attempts to navigate life both alive and dead. Sounds like the perfect book to read under the covers with a flashlight and some hot cocoa.

Bone Gap, Laura Ruby

I just started this book last weekend and I am so enthralled. It’s another book with a healthy dose of creepiness and a hint of magic that makes it perfect reading for a fall evening. It’s the story of the small town of Bone Gap, Indiana, which is harboring plenty of secrets. The main action revolves around a young woman who is kidnapped, but no one believes the sole witness, a 16 year old boy. It’s completely fascinating, and the writing style is absolutely gorgeous.

The Secret History, Donna Tartt

I will admit that I didn’t love this book as much as I expected to, but it is perfect for a cold autumn day. It’s the perfect amount of creepy and autumnal, with it taking place at a private college in New England. While I thought it could have been about 200 pages shorter and delivered the same effect, I will say that the story has stuck with me for some time. It follows a group of college students under the influence of their enigmatic Classics professor, who end up getting into some really bad stuff. Trust me on this.

Girls in the Moon, Janet McNally

I read this book earlier this year after picking it up on whim, and it was so enchanting. It follows the story of two sisters whose parents were once famous rockstars. It switches back and forth between present day and the past, when their parents were at the height of their fame. It covers loss, love, fame, and the relationships between sisters and between mothers and daughters with a fascinating grace, and it’s definitely been one of my favorite books I’ve read this year.

What are you reading this fall?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman is also a great autumn book. It’s got that other-wordly twist of NG novels but it’s also incredibly cozy, especially if you listen to him read the audio book.

    Looking forward to checking some of these out – especially The Secret History. 🙂

  • I’ve had The Secret Hisory on my TBR forever! Hopefully I can get my hands on a cpoy this fall. I’m focusing on some suspense and ghost stories right now. I’m about to start Find Her or A Stranger in the House. I haven’t decided yet!

  • All of these books sound like excellent reads, but I know for sure I will definitely look into Everything I Left Behind and Bone Gap. Thank you for the recommendations!